Orion Nebula

Posted by Diane Miller on Sun Mar 01, 2015 5:41 pm

All times are UTC-05:00

Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 14 posts | 
I haven't been participating here but need to get involved.  Thought I'd start with a recent astro shot -- have seen some gorgeous ones here.  This is the middle "star" in Orion's sword.

Canon 7D2, 300mm f/2.8 + 1.4X, ISO 1600, f/4, 30 sec.  Tracked with an Astrotrac.  Stack of 16 for noise reduction.  This is about 50% of the full frame.  Aligned for slight movement between frames and processed in LR5 and PS CS6.  Nothing fancy -- I'm still learning.

Hardest part is finding clear dark skies, then finding the object.

Posted by:
Diane Miller
Forum Contributor

by Chris Kayler on Sun Mar 01, 2015 9:05 pm
Chris Kayler
Forum Contributor
I love seeing these astro shots. You probably already know, but this one looks just a little softer than I guess it could. I'm sure it's hard as anything to get these images to perfectly align though! No doubt you've done much better than I could. I like the processing ... the nice cool tones in the nebula are really beautiful. The composition could be a bit more exciting ... it seems a touch cramped on the lower right as my eye seems follow the "blast" of the nebula into that direction. Maybe a vertical composition with the nebula a bit higher and to the left would be better. Just some thoughts! Enjoyed looking at this one.

by Diane Miller on Sun Mar 01, 2015 11:02 pm
Diane Miller
Forum Contributor
Thanks, Chris! I have more below and on the right, but cropped this way because it was crowded on the top. I would have preferred to point the camera a little higher but on this rig it isn't easy to move the camera at that magnification without loosing the subject completely, so decided to quit while I was ahead.