Moderator: Greg Downing

All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Topic Locked  
 First unread post  | 19 posts | 
by Blck-shouldered Kite on Fri Sep 26, 2014 12:08 pm
Blck-shouldered Kite
Forum Contributor
I asked MikeinO to come over here to look at this post.  I am working on it right now.  Should have it posted in a few minutes.  thanks

Here it is: 

Currently, Maine allows hounding, baiting, trapping and the sale of bear gall bladders.  It is all appalling.  But Maine Department of Inland Fish and Wildlife's biologists support all of it.  You can see them commenting on youtube.  I am also a wildlife biologist, but not a bear biologist.  I specialized largely in habitat management techniques and sometimes in endangered species.  I oppose these current bear hunting techniques in Maine.  I am working on completing a letter/article for Maine's newspaper. 

I need information.  I have interviewed biologists in favor and biologists against the referendum.     

I am told that Colorado, Washington and Oregon have removed their bear hunting laws that formerly allowed baiting and hounding.  Maine is the only one that allows bear trapping.  I am told that Colorado, Washington and Oregon are dealing with the changes quite easily; i.e. they have lost a few management tools but they are managing through the use of other tools.  Not room here to comment on this.    

Talked with Washington State and Maine  bear biologists day before yesterday, as well as a bear hunter who successfully hunts black bears here in Maine with none of these three methods.  Joel is a very successful bear hunter who hunts them on foot.  He knows where to look, how to scout them and how to approach them.  I am not at liberty to talk about it.  But I am encouraging him to begin writing about it and to possibly do clinics on how black bear hunters can hunt on foot...and kill a bear.  I strongly support hunting.  But....