All times are UTC-05:00

« Previous topic | Next topic »  
Reply to topic  
 First unread post  | 11 posts | 
by AlisonButtigieg on Tue Jul 22, 2014 2:28 am
AlisonButtigieg
Forum Contributor
Hello,

First post here!  I am in need of a monitor whose purpose is going to be photo editing.  I am quite overwhelmed by the selection & their intricacies, so it would be awesome if you could give me some advice.  I am just a serious hobbyist, so it's not critical to have the best available, however I do print occasionally and would like to have accurate colour for my web & other work.  I am aware that NEC & Eizo are the best - but was wondering whether these would be too much for me?  Would I get good results from a Dell + Spyder calibration tool?  My budget is limited ... In my neck of the woods, Finland, it would seem I can get better prices on Eizo than on NEC.  The only "proper" monitor I can afford is the Eizo ColorEdge CX240.  The other more modest option would be the Dell U2713H - bigger, higher resolution & cheaper.  What would you choose keeping in mind I am not a professional?  If it matters I am planning to attach it to a MacBook Pro.  

Thank you so much!

by Steve Cirone on Tue Jul 22, 2014 7:14 am
Steve Cirone
Lifetime Member
Member #:00583
Quite a few folks running the MacBook Pro are using the Apple 27" monitor as the screen at home.  EJ will object that Apple screens are not Adobe RGB, but I see no difference on the color, but a whopping difference on the 27" size compared to a 30".  27" Apple about $1000 US.